Federal Skilled Worker Class


Minimum Requirements

In order to be considered for processing, eligible applicants must meet one the following eligibility criteria:

  • Have at least one year of continuous, full-time or equivalent paid work experience in the past decade in one of the 24 eligible occupations; or
  • Qualify for Arranged Employment with a Labour Market Opinion and a full-time permanent job offer from a Canadian employer; or
  • Have completed a PhD in Canada, or have completed two years of study in Canada towards a PhD, in both cases at a recognized institution.

In addition,

  • Have at least one year of continuous full-time employment experience within the past 10 years in one or more occupations listed as either skill type 0, skill level A or B in NOC (National Occupation Classification and attain at least 67 points based on immigration selection factors;
  • Receive the score at least 6.0 in each of Listening/Reading/Writing/Speaking on the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exam; and
  • Have his/her foreign educational credentials favourably assessed by one of four designated Canadian assessment agencies.

List of 24 Eligible Occupations

  • 0211 Engineering managers
  • 1112 Financial and investment analysts
  • 2113 Geoscientists and oceanographers
  • 2131 Civil engineers
  • 2132 Mechanical engineers
  • 2134 Chemical engineers
  • 2143 Mining engineers
  • 2144 Geological engineers
  • 2145 Petroleum engineers
  • 2146 Aerospace engineers
  • 2147 Computer engineers (except software engineers/designers)
  • 2154 Land surveyors
  • 2174 Computer programmers and interactive media developers
  • 2243 Industrial instrument technicians and mechanics
  • 2263 Inspectors in public and environmental health and occupational health and safety
  • 3141 Audiologists and speech-language pathologists
  • 3142 Physiotherapists
  • 3143 Occupational Therapists
  • 3211 Medical laboratory technologists
  • 3212 Medical laboratory technicians and pathologists’ assistants
  • 3214 Respiratory therapists, clinical perfusionists and cardiopulmonary technologists
  • 3215 Medical radiation technologists
  • 3216 Medical sonographers
  • 3217 Cardiology technicians and electrophysiological diagnostic technologists, n.e.c. (not elsewhere classified)

A maximum of 5,000 Federal Skilled Worker applications will be considered for processing between May 4, 2013 and April 30, 2014. Within the 5,000 cap, a maximum of 300 Federal Skilled Worker Applications per eligible occupation in the list will be considered for processing between May 4, 2013 and April 30, 2014.

Accompanying family members

Applicants under federal skilled worker class can accompany the following family members:

  • Spouse
  • Common-law partner (a person who is cohabiting in a conjugal relationship as an opposite or same-sex partner for at least one year)
  • Dependent children of the principal applicant or of their spouse or common-law partner, and who is
    1. less than 22 years of age and unmarried or 
    2. 22 years of age or over or married, but financially dependent and is
      • continuously in school on a full-time basis since before the age of 22 or
      • physically or mentally disabled

Six Selection Criteria

Applicants under federal skilled worker class will be assessed by an immigration officer according to the following six selection criteria. The applicants must attain a minimum score of 67 points in order to be eligible to become a permanent resident of Canada.

  1. Education (Maximum 25 Points)
  2. Official Languages (Maximum 28 Points) 
  3. Work Experience (Maximum 15 Points) 
  4. Arranged Employment (Maximum 10 Points) 
  5. Age (Maximum 12 Points) 
  6. Adaptability (Maximum 10 Points)

Language Proficiency

Applicants under federal skilled worker class must submit test results of English and/or French proficiency assessed by a designated organization or institution. Currently, the Canadian government designates IELTS and CELPIP for English and TEF for French. Their URLs are as follows:

Self- Assessment

Please check your eligibility by trying our Self- Assessment